‹ zurück Sie sind hier:  Startseite » Buchhändler » » Mieczyslaw Weinberg In Search of Freedom

Linksbuch Neu neu Rechtsbuch

Fanning, David

Mieczyslaw Weinberg In Search of Freedom (Gebundene Ausgabe)

Wolke Verlagsges. Mbh, Wolke Verlagsgesellschaft mbH, Juni 2010

220 S. - Sprache: Englisch - 28 Abbildungen - 220x151x23 mm

ISBN: 3936000913 EAN: 9783936000917

David Fanning's book is the first full account of Weinberg's life and works in any language. Drawing on unpublished materials in the family archives and on the personal reminiscences of those close to Weinberg, he tells the story of a composer who devoted his life to music against heavy odds, memorializing those who did not live to share in his problematic freedom. Mieczyslaw Weinberg (1919-96) made two narrow escapes from the Nazis: in 1939 from his native Warsaw to Minsk, then in 1941 to Tashkent. He settled in Moscow from 1943 until his death, and rapidly became recognised as one of the USSR's finest composers, enjoying a relationship of enduring mutual respect with Shostakovich. His symphonies, string quartets, sonatas and concertos were championed by artists of the standing of Oistrakh, Kogan, Rostropovich, Gilels, Fedoseyev and the Borodin Quartet, and he remained forever grateful to his adopted country for his life and career. Yet his freedom came at a price. He was chastened by the anti-formalism campaigns of the late-1940s, and in 1953 he was arrested, accused of 'bourgeois Jewish nationalism'. The death of Stalin helped to secure his release, and though his health never entirely recovered, he resumed his prolific output. Neglected in his adopted country towards the end of his life, his profoundly humane music has seen a remarkable posthumous renaissance in the West, where his operas in particular are being rediscovered, including The Passenger, which can claim to be the finest musical work ever composed in commemoration of Auschwitz.

Titel derzeit leider nicht verfügbar.


ISBN 3-936000-91-3

ISBN 978-3-936000-91-7

Sparen Sie Versandkosten beim Kauf weiterer Artikel dieses Buchhändlers.

Hans Gál Ein Jahrhundert Musik von Fox-Gál, Eva; Fox, Anthony W.; Gruber, Gerold (Herausgeber)
8,90 EUR
Meine zuletzt angesehenen antiquarischen und neue Bücher
Meine letzten Buch Suchanfragen
    Noch keine Suchanfragen vorhanden.

© 2003 - 2018 by whSoft GmbH
Entdecken Sie außerdem: Antiquariatsportal · Achtung-Bücher.de · Booklink · Buchhai - Bücher Preisvergleich
Alle genannten Preise sind Bruttopreise und enthalten, soweit nicht anders vom Verkäufer angegeben, die gesetzliche Umsatzsteuer.